Tesla Model 3 Review 1 Year Later



One year after we took delivery of our Tesla Model 3 my wife Jennie and I sat down to talk about how it’s going. Join our email list and get these updates direct to your inbox at

// New here? Check out more
Most Recent Video –
Most Popular Video –
Subscribe –

// Shoot me a msg online
fb
tw

// My Gear
Books
Tech
Camera –
Model 3 Essentials –

// Music by Epidemic Sound

// Disclaimer
This video and channel are not affiliated with Tesla nor did they endorse this specific production.

I may earn a small commission for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial, and/or link to any products or services linked above. Your purchase helps support my work in bringing you the data and analytics behind the world.

// Tesla Model 3 (wikipedia)
The Tesla Model 3 is a mid-size (US) / compact executive (EU)[7] luxury all-electric four-door sedan manufactured and sold by Tesla, Inc.[1] Following crash testing it received five-stars in every category from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.[8][9] According to Tesla officials, the Model 3 Standard version delivers an EPA-rated all-electric range of 220 miles (354 km) and the Long-range version delivers 310 miles (499 km).[3] The Model 3 has a minimalist dashboard with only a center-mounted LCD touchscreen.[10] Tesla stated that the Model 3 carries full self-driving hardware to be optionally enabled at a future date.[11][12][13]

Within a week of unveiling the Model 3 in 2016, Tesla revealed they had taken 325,000 reservations for the car. These reservations represented potential sales of over US$14 billion.[14][15] By August 2017, there were 455,000 net reservations.[16][17] Limited production of the Model 3 began in mid-2017, with the first production vehicle rolling off the assembly line on July 7, 2017,[18][19][20] with the official launch and delivery of the first 30 cars on July 28.[21] On July 1, 2018, it was announced that Tesla had met its production goal of 5,000 cars in a week.[22][23][24]

Total deliveries passed the 100,000 unit milestone in October 2018,[25] and cumulative sales since inception totaled 147,610 units through December 2018.[26][27][28] The Model 3 was the top-selling plug-in electric car in the U.S. in 2018 with an estimated all-time record of almost 140,000 units delivered, after being the top-selling plug-in car in the country for 12 months in-a-row since January 2018.[29][30]

In a 2013 interview, Jerome Guillen discussed “BlueStar” (codename for the Model 3 project), stating that Tesla was expecting to produce 400,000 cars per year.[91]

In May 2016, Tesla told its suppliers that it intended to double earlier-announced Model 3 production targets to 100,000 in 2017 and 400,000 in 2018 due to demand, which suppliers[92][93] and many experts viewed as unattainable.[94][95] In the Tesla Factory, paint lines for 500,000 automobiles commenced in 2015, and some stamping equipment for the Model 3 was operational by August 2016.[96] Tesla bought Grohmann Engineering, experienced in automated manufacturing, January 2017. This acquisition launched Tesla Advanced Automation Germany, which Tesla said would develop manufacturing processes to be used initially in Model 3 production.[97] According to Tesla in late 2016, the company expected to invest between US$2 billion and US$2.5 billion in capital expenditures ahead of the start of Model 3 production.[97]

After the two Alpha prototypes were shown (silver and black; red was a shell) in April 2016, Tesla finished the design in late July 2016. Tesla ordered parts equivalent to 300 Beta prototypes in August 2016, preparing for development of the assembly line. As of August 2016, the company intended to make release candidates for testing prior to actual production.[98][99] Tesla began building Model 3 prototypes in early February 2017 as part of the testing of the vehicle design and manufacturing processes. Tesla said in late 2016 that initial crash test results had been positive.[97]

39 Replies to “Tesla Model 3 Review 1 Year Later”

  1. Evan Hatfield

    when Tesla starts making the Tesla Model Y it will have a rear trunk that will close by itself when you walk away from the car so if you want the Tesla Model Y you can get it when it comes out

  2. Eden Roth

    I will wait for the Model Y, the cross over SUV long range which as the same price as the Model 3 long range. I did test drive on Model 3 and found that driving position is not really comfortable. Sitting on Model 3 driver position is like sitting on a bucket rather on a chair, knees get high, long distance with Model 3 would be tiring. Model Y would be the best choice.

  3. dubs

    I can’t put a finger on the exact thing that seems off, but something seems fake about these videos, and you two. Seems like both you are having two individual conversations. Not listening to each other but just waiting for the next turn to talk. Both full of yourselves. Trying to one up each other. Zero connection. Off putting. Oh look at me, I own 3 Tesla’s, I am enlightened. Sex is scheduled and happens twice a year. Missionary only. Stop making these videos.

  4. S

    Amazing review. My fiance and I will marry next year and will get the model 3 before the end of this year. However, I do wonder about problems with fitting in the future kids now. Perhaps the model 3 will only work for a few years then may need to grow in size to a model Y or X. But I wish we wouldn’t have to.

  5. David Faustino

    I love the Tesla Model 3 and Model Y. My next car will be a model Y. But youre kidding yourself if you think this is a great road trip vehicle. There are plenty of chargers everywhere, but having to plan charging stops is significantly less convenient than in a traditional vehicle. Im still getting one, but the road trip thing is a compromise not an advantage.

  6. Marian

    I take my family of 4 and a stroller to the beach in a Spark EV, lol. Had to find a special stroller that fit in the.. trunk? 2nd glove box? not sure what to call it back there, but it can be done and it's fun! This car would be huge compared to mine… but for $10K to buy I can't complain. Go electric!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *